You Can Trust in God’s Promises

But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind.

James 1:6

james-1-6

So, did you do it?

Did you ask God for wisdom?

James 1:5 encouraged any of us who lack wisdom to ask God, who gives generously to all.

Early this morning, I read the devotional that I wrote yesterday to my wife, Cyndi. And then we prayed for wisdom.

My day consisted of six back-to-back meetings, lots of e-mails and phone calls. So many times today I needed wisdom. And, after meditating on James 1:5 throughout the day yesterday, and meditating on James 1:6 today, I was more aware of my need for wisdom than I normally am.

After a day of living in awareness of my need to ask God for wisdom, I am pleased to say that I am ending my day with peace about the decisions that I made today. I feel like God gave me wisdom over an over today.

So let’s look at today’s verse.

But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind.

God’s promise of wisdom for those who ask is conditional.

We need to ask for wisdom:

  • In Faith – Whenever I think about about the word “faith” I think about the Hebrews 11:1 definition of faith, which says, “1 Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.” I find that my prayer life can be one of the most difficult areas to have faith. Do you ever pray for something, but not believe that God is going to do something about it? If we believe that James 1:5 is a promise from God concerning wisdom, then we need to ask God for it in faith, believing that God is the ultimate Promise Keeper.
  • With no Doubting – It seems like “with no doubting,” is the same thing as faith. But, I’ve found that my doubts, and overcoming those doubts, are sometimes the very things that God uses to strengthen my faith. Maybe the point that James is trying to make here is that we don’t need to doubt God’s promises. Ask for wisdom knowing that God wants to give you wisdom.

Why is doubt as it relates to asking for faith such a big deal to James?

Because the person who doubts is like a wave of sea that is driven and tossed by the sea. Anyone who has been to the ocean, or one of the Great Lakes can relate to what James is saying here. Waves are easily moved by the wind. A person who doesn’t believe that God keeps his promises in one area can be easily swayed to believe that God won’t keep His promises in other areas too.

Struggle with trusting God?

Start with trusting in His promise to give you wisdom.

Solomon wrote in Proverbs 9:10 that, “10 The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, and the knowledge of the Holy One is insight.”

Ask God, in faith and see what He does!

Leave a comment